Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is constituted under the University Act and is responsible for the conduct, management, administration and control of the property, revenue, business and affairs of the University.

As part of its governing role, the Board of Governors issue policies from time to time. These policies are published on the UPEI Policies and Procedures website.

The UPEI Board of Governors consists of 26 members, which includes the UPEI Chancellor; UPEI President; President of Holland College; nine members appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council, six members elected by the UPEI Board of Governors; two members elected by and from the UPEI Alumni Association; two members elected by and from the Senate of the University; two members elected by and from the Faculty of the University; and, two members elected by and from the student body of the University.


Pat Sinnott
Mr. Pat Sinnott
Toronto, ON
Retired Executive
Catherine Callbeck
Hon. Catherine Callbeck, CM, OPEI, LLD
Central Bedeque, PE
Retired Canadian Senator, former Premier of PEI, former MP
dr. greg keefe
Dr. Greg Keefe
Interim President and Vice-Chancellor
Charlottetown, PE
Alex MacBeath
Mr. Alex MacBeath
Vice-Chair; Chair - Finance and Audit Committee
Murray Harbour, PE
CEO, Island Capital Partners
andrew bartlett
Mr. Andrew Bartlett
Chair - Development, Fundraising and External Relations Committee
Stratford, PE
Portfolio Manager, Scotia Wealth Management
portrait photo of Steve Bellamy
Mr. Steve Bellamy
Chair - Property and Assets Committee
Charlottetown, PE
CEO, Confederation Centre of the Arts
Shannon MacDonald
Ms. Shannon MacDonald
Chair - Governance and Appeals Committee
Toronto, ON
Partner, EY
Perlene Morrison
Ms. Perlene Morrison
Chair - Human Resources Committee
Charlottetown, PE
Brian Thompson
Mr. Brian Thompson
Board Secretary
Charlottetown, PE
Retired Executive, StandardAero
Shreesh Agrawal
Mr. Shreesh Agrawal
Charlottetown, PE
UPEI Student Union Representative
Rabin Bissessur
Dr. Rabin Bissessur
Charlottetown, PE
Professor, Department of Chemistry
Jim Bradley
Mr. Jim Bradley
Summerside, PE
Retired CEO / General Manager, ADL
Tim Carroll
Mr. Tim Carroll
Stratford, PE
Professor, Faculty of Business
kateri coade
Ms. Kateri Coade
Rocky Point, PE
Senior Program Coordinator, Child and Family Services, Mi'kmaq Confederacy of PEI
Ms. Karen Creighan
Souris, PE
Owner, Mainstreet Pharmasave
mr. charles curley
Mr. Charles Curley
Charlottetown, PE
Community Leader
dr. albert fogarty
Dr. Albert Fogarty
Charlottetown, PE
Retired Educator and former Member of the Legislative Assembly
Peter Hayes
Mr. Peter Hayes
Bedford, NS
Retired Actuary
Geraldine Johnston
Dr. Geraldine Johnston
Montague, PE
General Practitioner
Dr. Christian Lacroix
Dr. Christian Lacroix
Winsloe, PE
Professor, Biology Department
Alexander (Sandy) MacDonald
Dr. Alexander (Sandy) MacDonald
Charlottetown, PE
President, Holland College
board member adam mackenzie
Adam MacKenzie
President, UPEI Student Union
dr. stan macpherson
Dr. Stan MacPherson
Charlottetown, PE
Chartered Professional Accountant, Business and Community Leader
board member William Montelpare
Dr. William J. Montelpare
Stratford, PE
Professor, and the Margaret and Wallace McCain Chair in Human Development and Health, Department of Applied Human Sciences, Faculty of Science, and Faculty of Nursing